With its authentic, eye-catching façade, the Pied Piper’s house in the historical old quarter is a living piece of the world of fairy tales. Built by Alderman H. Arendes in 1602–1603, the house is among the most beautiful constructions of the Weser Renaissance. The Pied Piper himself did not live in this houseit bears its name since around 1900, due to an inscription found on the side of the house, which reminds passers-by of the fairy tale about the Pied Piper. This is the oldest version of the tale of the Pied Piper, and it tells us that on 26 June 1284, 130 children were kidnapped from Hamelin by a rat-catcher with a pipe. Nowadays a restaurant serves Hamelin specialties like tasty rat tails and rat killer, a delicious liqueur, in the historic house.