Augustusburg palace and Falkenlust huntinglodge, along with their gardens, have been inscribed in the UNESCO World Heritage list as a fine example of an ensemble of German rococo architecture. These days, they are open to the public.
Work on Augustusburg Palace, the favourite residence of Clemens August of Bavaria, Elector and Archbishop of Cologne (1700–1761), began in 1725 under the Westphalian architect Johann Conrad Schlaun. From 1728 until 1768 it was transformed into a stunning residential palace by the Bavarian court architect François de Cuvilliés. The famous grand staircase of the palace, used for official receptions by the German President until 1996, was designed by Balthasar Neumann. The baroque gardens were created by Dominique Girard, modelled on French designs. Falkenlust, a small summer residence and huntinglodge, was also built by Cuvilliés, in a relatively short time (1729–37). It is one of the mostintimate and exquisite creations of the German rococo era.